Afterdeath: Face to Face With Nothing


He falls twenty stories.

Bones break, shatter, on the street below. All goes dark.

That’s death, he discovers. Darkness. Loneliness.

There is no white light to guide. Family and friends are not waiting. Not even a devil waiting with a personal pit of fire.

Just black.

“You know, Jesse, I think I can read minds now.”

“I said don’t call me by my name.”

“I can read your mind. I know what you want to do to me. Do you know what I want to do to you? I want to kill you. I almost did.”

“Fuck you.”

She leaves him. He’s alone again. That’s what he wanted. Ever since he died, ever since he came back, all he has wanted was to be alone. To be face to face with nothing once again.

He fits the barrel of a gun into his mouth and pulls the trigger. A bullet flies through the roof of his mouth and explodes his brain.

All goes black.

Two hours later he opens his eyes. Alive once again.

“I can’t die. I’m alive again. Did I even die in the first place?”

Nothing responds.

About litbandit

El Bandito Bibliotequa...or something.
This entry was posted in Afterdeath. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

