A different kind of hero today…


Today is Jack Kerouac’s birthday.

I remember reading “On The Road” while going to art school in Savannah. It took all of my strength not to hop on a freight train and discover the life of adventure that he wrote about.

One thing, as I have moved on from my love of the beats, Kerouac was one of my main inspirations for becoming a writer. Reading him, I learned that many rules could be broken, twisted, bent in ways that fit the story.

The only rule that applies to writing is this:

Write how the story dictates, if convention doesn’t fit- if it disrupts the flow- then veer off on a side road like Moriarty behind the wheel and write write write.

So here’s to you, Jack. You’ve influenced the countless, and you can count me amongst them.

Happy Birthday, Jack.

About litbandit

El Bandito Bibliotequa...or something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

