Lilliput, or, The Incident of Being In An Art Show a Decade After Dropping Out of Art School


I am pleased to announce that I have a small, literally small, piece in an art show in Milan…tonight. Go see it! Quick!

Thank you to Cynthia von Buhler for allowing me to show with some amazingly talented people – artists whom I admire greatly.

I went to the Savannah College of Art and Design…and subsequently dropped out after a year. I just didn’t have the passion for art the way I had growing up. I fell in love with writing. I wrote constantly. Filling up notebook after notebook. I pursued writing to another school and got a degree in English.
And now, here I am, in an art show a decade after turning my back on illustration.
It’s a strange feeling. An old lover coming back into your life after you’ve scorned them. The awkward starts at conversation, the almost unnoticeable moment when you slip back into that groove.
I felt that. I struggled for weeks trying to come up with something. It couldn’t just be anything, you know? When it clicked, it went easy, it flowed and I looked down at this tiny little drawing and I was proud of it. I felt I had made something that should be seen in the world, not just on this blog.
It was a serious piece of art, and I fell in love again.

The show is called “Lilliput” and starts off in Milan and makes its way back to New York later in the year.

The artists in the show, like I just wrote, amaze me, blow me away and I can’t believe I’m included with them. Just look at this list:
Anita Kunz, Cathie Bleck, Kathy Osborn, Walter Sickert, Dean Haspiel, Christina Carrozza, Molly Crabapple, Silent James, Esther Westwood, Katelan Foisy, Jen Ferguson, Cynthia von Buhler, Rita J. King, Zoë Williams, Aaron Lazar, Pamela Martin, Logan Riley, Bibiana, Scott Bakal, David Mack,  Melissa Dowell, Michelle Vaughan, Paul Weiner, Dana McDonald and Kat Mon Dieu.

Right???

Totally honored and blown away.
To see more about the show click here.

About litbandit

El Bandito Bibliotequa...or something.
This entry was posted in Art, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

