If I Had Control Over Judgement Day


I open my eyes and the sky explodes.

I thought it would be bigger. It was more of a whimper than a bang.
It’s the end of the world and you can hear a whisper.

Everyone was wrong. There was no rapture, no aliens or zombies or world wide war.
It just started as a little spark. Tiny, really. Falling from a singular black cloud over the Pacific ocean.
Like God lit a cigarette and let the match fall.
The ocean caught fire. I think it was fire. It wasn’t hot though.

But it spread.

It spread to land, up mountains and slowly made its way to the sky.

The end of the world. I wasn’t even shocked. I always knew it would happen during my life time.
I mean, I hoped it wouldn’t, don’t get me wrong.

But here we are.

In a way it seems beautiful. Completely hopeless, but beautiful. Like those photographs you see of wars and violent protests.
There were no protests this time. No mass looting like you’d think.
It all went down like a horrible ballet. One spark in the ocean and society jerks and contorts like a Stravinsky firebird.
No pun intended.

If I had control over judgement day, I wouldn’t change anything.
Bright flames and ash falling – it’s peaceful, it’s quiet.
No one is screaming. I don’t hear crying. I don’t even see anyone else.

The end just slowly envelopes everything. Creeping along and leaving the void in it’s trail.

I’m just going to sit back, smoke this last cigarette, drop my match in the sea of flame like a god and wait.

I close my eyes.

I open my eyes and see nothing. Nothing at all.

***Opening sentence by Justin (Sithbomb)***

About litbandit

El Bandito Bibliotequa...or something.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I Had Control Over Judgement Day

  1. Kevin says:

    I love the closing, neatly tied up. The end of everything in a story that comes full circle.

  2. Holly Geely says:

    That was great!

Leave a comment